As promised a few days back, I’m going to be sharing with you four cards “ordered” by my children.  As I was working on some cards and projects, I decided to offer myself a bit of a mini-challenge.  I had papers, inks, tools and accessories in front of me, but no stamps.  I called each of my four children in one by one, asked them to randomly grab a current stamp set from my shelf and hand it to me to make a card.  My plan was to have a finished card within a 1/2 hour of their stamp selection and I would not look anywhere for ideas or inspiration- just create.  Today and the next three days, you’ll see the results of this challenge.  We’ll begin with Isabel’s selection, Kind Words.

For this card you will need:

  • Stamp Set:  Kind Words, Whisper White
  • Card Stock:  Lavendar Lace
  • Designer Series Paper:  Sweet Pea
  • Ink:  Stazon Jet Black, Pretty In Pink
  • Tools and Accessories:  Paper Snips, Watercolor Pencils, Stampin’ Pastels
This card is a bit tricky and takes some patience.  If you have the Sweet Pea paper, you’ll have seen the pages with a group of beautiful butterflies flying mostly in one corner of the page.  This inspired me to very carefully cut around the butterflies creating a “frame” for my stamped image.  I cut just enough around the butterflies such that I could tuck the corners of my Whisper White in behind the butterflies.  I also cut a few extra butterflies and flowers from the same page to have on hand to balance things once my card was complete.  Once my proportions and trimming were complete, I stamped my image onto my Whisper White card stock using the Stazon.  Then, using my pastels and pencils, I colored the image.  Along the edges, I added a bit of Pretty in Pink using a sponging technique.  I put my image into my butterfly frame, gluing down all the butterflies and adding some extras to the right to balance things.  I adhered it to my card front.
On the inside, I used a few pieces of scrap DSP to embellish the inside.  This is the reverse design for the butterfly pages.  I also stamped my sentiment from Kind Words.

Isabel’s review, “Cool, Mom.”

God Bless and Happy Stampin’
Charity

