Tags

, ,

Image 

Continuing with my thank you cards from the Sale-A-Bration Good as Gold Simply Sent Card Kit (item 133512), I have six more cards to share with you.  These are the correct size for the envelopes that come in the kit unlike the previous post where I did the standard 4 1/4 x 5 1/2 inch cards.  As before, I trimmed the card bases from the kit to use them as layers on the card front and then I added some additional items.  Additional items that are not found in the kit but used in the cards shown:

  • Decorative Dots Textured Embossing Folder (SAB 2014, item 133520
  • Card Stocks:  Pistachio Pudding, Crumb Cake, Island Indigo, Basic Black
  • Bermuda Bay Tafetta Ribbon (IBC, item 131206)Image
  • In Color Dahlias (IBC, 127556)

The first card uses just a small amount of the card base and then a layer of Basic Black that has been embossed using the Decorative Dots Textured Folder.  This folder mimics the pattern found on the paper from the card bases in the Simply Sent kit.  I also used some scrap Bermuda Bay Tafetta Ribbon in this design and you can see that whenever I punched the star out of the gold flag, I tried to use it somewhere else on the card or on another card.  The card base for this one is Crumb Cake.

For the next card, I also used the embossing folder.  Did I mention that this embossing folder is another Sale-A-Bration goodie.  Shhh, don’t tell my husband I spent $50 to earn each Imageitem.  😉  On this “danke” card, I used more of the embossed Basic Black layered with the card base piece.  I also used both the twine and gold cord to add a little extra texture near the fold.  I also think that the sentiment flags lend themself well to curling up the flag on one end so you can see I’ve done that on most of the card designs.  Just a little fun touch that adds a little extra dimension to the card.  This card uses the Island Indigo for the base.  The dots are actually Bermuda Bay, but the Island Indigo worked pretty well.

The next thank you card is done with the Pistachio Pudding card stock.  I used all the different flags available from the kit and then added some extra dimension with the embossed Crumb Cake and also some Bermuda BaImagey Tafetta Ribbon tied with some of the gold cord.  Since I had the ribbon on the flag, I moved it away from the edge of the card.  I did this because the flag had the Pistachio Pudding along the edges and I wanted to allow for some contrast and not have tone on tone with the flag right at the edge.

For the next “danke” card, I decided to run one of the narrow flags from the Simply Sent kit through the embossing folder.  I also left the polka dot card base a little larger for layering onto the Crumb Cake card stock.  I used both the twine and the cord again.  I think this one is a little simpler and cleaner than some of the other ones in this set, but still very nice.  All of these cards are perfect examples that you do not need to be super fancy or Imageuse lots of fancy items to make a beautiful handmade card to share with someone.

For the second card using the Crumb Cake base, I added an In Color Dahlia (IBC, item 127556).  I used some smaller pieces of Island Indigo that were embossed using the Decorative Dots folder.  Rather than having the flags all go the same direction, I did a horizontal and a vertical layer.  I like cards with this type of balance.  The small star that was punched out of the gold flag was used on the interior of the card to add just a little extra color.  Although I don’t always show it, I typically use a small piece of leftover card stock or designer series paper to jazz up the inside of the cards.  Nothing too elaborate, just enough to balance the beauty of the front.Image

The final card used the Island Indigo for the card base and repeats some of the design features you’ve seen in the other cards, just layering card stock and embellishments.  Again, simple, using what I had on hand.  I always save the bits and pieces and try to splurge on at least one package of embellishments or some ribbon in every order.  It really adds a nice touch to the cards.

After completing 12 cards, I still have all 12 of the “for you” sentiment flags available to use in other card designs, several sheets/pieces of the polka dot card base, a few pieces of twine and gold cord, some of the gold flags and the thin flags.  I also have 2 lined envelopes that can be used.  I’m not exactly sure how many cards I can make.  I can at least make 12 “for you” cards using those flags even without using some of the other embellishments.

Image

If you are on the fence about trying to make handmade cards, the Stampin’ Up! Simply Sent Kits are a good place to start.  There are several “Simply” kits in the Occasions Catalog as well as the Idea Book and Catalog.  You can add a package of neutral card stock to your order along with a complimentary package of ribbon or other type of embellishment and go “out of the box” like I did here or you can follow the directions of the kit and still have an absolutely gorgeous project.  Let’s face it, the artists at Stampin’ Up! know what they are doing!  Check out the catalogs and promotions at my website as well the project ideas and class schedule.

God Bless and Happy Stampin’!

Charity

